Auckland Sister Cities & Friendship Cities

Sister Cities & Friendship Cities

Auckland City had six sister cities and two friendship city relationships.  All of these cities except Hamburg (Germany) are located around the Pacific Rim.

In this picture we can see the Sister Cities of Los Angeles – can you spot Auckland?

Auckland Sister & Friendship Cities

Sister cities

  • Brisbane, Australia
  • Guangzhou, China
  • Hamburg, Germany
  • Galway,Ireland
  • Fukuoka, Japan
  • Busan, South Korea
  • Los Angeles, United States
  • Taichung, Taiwan

A sister city, county, or state relationship is a broad-based, long-term partnership between two communities in two countries. A relationship is officially recognized after the highest elected or appointed official from both communities sign off on an agreement to become sister cities.

A city may have any number of sister cities, with community involvement ranging from a half dozen to hundreds of volunteers. In addition to volunteers, sister city organizations can include representatives from nonprofits, municipal governments, the private sector, and other civic organizations.

Each sister city organization is independent and pursues the activities and thematic areas that are important to them and their community including municipal, business, trade, educational, and cultural exchanges and projects with their sister city.

Friendship cities

  • Tomioka, Japan
  • Shinagawa, Japan

The Friendship Cities Program is a way for the City to initiate relationships — on a municipal government to municipal government basis — with international cities on a less formal basis than through an official sister city relationship.

You Might Also Like:

Same Day Loans

Quick Cash – Our same day loans are fast – apply online in just a few minutes. Sometimes we need some quick cash to sort out pressing matters.